Safety testing overhaul

Time 13 years ago

EXPECT renewed interest in ESP stability control systems from customers next year, when a revised EuroNCAP rating system is launched.

That’s because all new cars tested won’t get a full five-star rating unless ESP is standard on the majority of models in the range.

There will also be a new five-star overall vehicle rating. This will replace the current myriad star ratings, which have been in existence since 1997.

This overall rating will be composed from scores in four areas: adult occupant, child occupant, pedestrian protection and safety assist.

The latter is a new area, and focuses on ‘active’ safety systems such as the all-important ESP. Vehicles will have to now do well in all four areas to achieve top scores.

First results for vehicles tested under the new rating system will be released in February 2009.

Car Dealer Magazine's avatar

Car Dealer has been covering the motor trade since 2008 as both a print and digital publication. In 2020 the title went fully digital and now provides daily motoring updates on this website for the car industry. A digital magazine is published once a month.

More stories...

Server 190